About

IMG_0152My most important assets are my strong academic background and extensive international experience. I hold a PhD in history from the University of California, Davis, and an MA in Education from Lewis and Clark College in Portland, Oregon. Prior to this, I graduated with honors from the University of California, Berkeley, and received a Fulbright Scholarship to study migration and the making of transnational identities at the University of Turku, Finland.

In addition to being a Fulbright scholar, my international experience includes work as a postdoctoral researcher in Finland, teaching English as a second language to immigrants, and teaching business English to professionals at various companies. I have also lived and studied in Québec City, Canada, and London, England.

I focus strongly on research, writing, and teaching in my work. While a graduate student in the United States, I taught undergraduate students about research and documentation and how to write strong academic papers.  I have also taught history and social studies at the middle school, high school, and university levels in the United States and Finland. In addition, I have worked as a technical writer, producing procedure manuals for the State of California Public Utilities Commission.

I started my own business in January of 2009 and have proofread, revised, and edited numerous academic, government, and business texts since. I also provide guidance on the finer points of professional and academic writing. The majority of my clients are researchers and professors at various European universities. I regularly guest teach classes at the University of Turku and make presentation at international conferences, most recently at the 25th Biennial Conference of the Nordic Association of American Studies in Denmark (May 2017).

I find that my experience living, studying, and working in different countries and environments has provided me with the skills to work effectively with students/experts from a variety of backgrounds in the field of education.